Skip to Content

« »
Our Next Events
October 24
Road Trip to
Taos Museums

Welcome to the New Mexico Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) was founded in 1987 as the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women's creative contributions. By bringing to light remarkable women artists of the past while also promoting the best women artists working today, the museum directly addresses the gender imbalance in the presentation of art in the U.S. and abroad, thus assuring great women artists a place of honor now and into the future. In January 2015, the Museum was awarded the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom, the first organization in the United States to be presented with this prestigious award.

Discover Recognize Celebrate

The New Mexico Committee of the Museum (NMC-NMWA) was established in 1997 to enhance the mission of the Museum, and to bring recognition to the achievements of women artists residing in New Mexico through special events, art shows, lectures, educational programs, and our many diverse "Artful Afternoons." The New Mexico Committee celebrates the achievements of women in the visual, performance, and literary arts.

New Mexico women artists in the collection of the National Museum include: Corn Blue, Judy Chicago, Marie Zieu Chino, Helen Cordero, Grace Medicine Flower, Dolores Lewis Garcia, Agnes Martin, Santana Royal Martinez, Maria Martinez, Emma Lewis Mitchell, Georgia O'Keeffe, Cathy Raymond, Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Lu Ann Tafoya, Margaret Tafoya, and Nancy Youngblood.

Winners of NMWA's "Women to Watch" program from New Mexico, who were chosen to display their art at the National Museum, are:
2015: Mary Tsiongas
2012: Ligia Bouton
2008: Joan Meyers

website design by studio x santa fe - member of santa