Skip to Content


Wednesday, July 12, 6:30 to 8:00 pm
David Richard Gallery, 1570 Pacheco Street, Santa Fe

In this lively panel discussion, three noted women in the arts will address The Power of Photography. Don't miss this chance to hear their views and ask your questions!

Merry Scully, Curator of Contemporary Art at the New Mexico Museum of Art in Santa Fe, Moderator.

Lucy Lippard, internationally known writer, art critic, activist, curator and early champion of feminist art.

Maria Varela, activist, writer, and photographer in the black Civil Rights Movement. In addition to her primary work of supporting communities in the Southwest, Varela has been a visiting Professor at UNM and The Colorado College.

Kathryn M Davis, art historian specializing in modern and contemporary American art, arts writer, editor, curator, and educator and host of ArtBeat on KVSF 105.5 in Santa Fe.

This event is one of a series presented by the NM Committee of the National Museum of Women in the Arts in commemoration of our 20th anniversary.
Photo: Cara Romero by Kali Spitzer

Registration $35/person. Space is limited. Questions? Contact Anne Frej by email or at 505-795-5371

The Power of Photography

This event is sold out! Please contact event registrar to add your name to the wait list.